Visit AirCareColorado.com for emissions inspection locations and current wait times.
Show All Answers
Yes, provided they are also on the new title or have a valid Power of Attorney (DR 2175).
No, you must title / register your vehicle in the county where you reside.
Yes, Colorado law allows a one-month grace period, excluding Special Mobile Machinery (SMM) off-highway tabs, persons with disabilities placards and temporary permits.
Yes, all vehicles must be registered or an unregistered-vehicle fine will apply.
You must register your vehicle within 90 days of becoming a resident.
Collector plates are available to vehicles that are at least 32 years of age and that are not driven more than 4,500 miles per year. Vehicles that were made in 1976 and newer require emission testing.
Did you know most people can register their new vehicles online? If you are unable to register your vehicle online, please use our live chat or email us so we can assist you.
You can renew your plates online or a renewal kiosk at the grocery store. If you are at the end of your grace period month and you have tried one of these options and receive an error message, please chat with us online during business hours or call us at 303-271-8100 and we will assist you.
If you need to use your vehicle, please have with you the title, bill of sale, and insurance for your newly purchased vehicle and make an appointment by visiting our appointments page. Please note that, if we are closed, you are only permitted to operate the vehicle for up to 36 hours from the time of sale (with the above paperwork in hand). After 36 hours, you need to have the vehicle registered in your name to operate it.