Federal and state law require all states to collect an annual $25 fee from the custodial parent for cases in which the custodial parent has never received cash assistance benefits in any state, and has received at least $500 in child support payments during the federal fiscal year (October 1 through September 30). The fee is deducted from the child support payment, but the non-custodial parent still receives full credit for the payment.
For additional information regarding fees, visit the Colorado Department of Human Services website.
Show All Answers
There is a $20 application fee, payable by cash, check or money order. There is no fee requirement if you are receiving cash assistance through the Colorado Works program.
You can call the Child Support Services Division at 303-271-4300 to request that an application be mailed to you, visit our office and request an application, or apply online. If you do not have access to the Internet but would like to apply online, please visit our office to apply using a free computer kiosk.
Child Support Services will enter your application and the non-custodial parent’s information into the child support computer system upon receiving your application and $20 fee, if applicable. You will receive notice in the mail when your case is initiated. Your case will then be referred to the appropriate Case Specialist, who will determine the next best action.
Child Support Services will use all available resources to locate a non-custodial parent. You can help by giving as much information about the non-custodial parent as possible to your Case Specialist and by updating your Case Specialist when you find out any information regarding his or her whereabouts.
Child Support Services will review your case to determine if Colorado has legal authority over the non-custodial parent to establish, modify or enforce a child support order. If Colorado does not have legal authority, your Case Specialist will request assistance from the state in which the non-custodial parent resides. The timeframes for processing cases often are longer than when both parents reside in the same state.
If you already had a child support order when you applied, your Case Specialist will review your case to determine where the non-custodial parent is located and what action is needed to ensure you receive your child support. If the non-custodial parent is employed, your Case Specialist will send an income withholding order to the employer, which will ensure more consistent receipt of your child support. If you do not have a child support order yet, an order will need to be established before payments can be collected.
To register to view specific case status information online, visit the Colorado Department of Human Services website.
Child support payments are processed through the Family Support Registry. There are several ways to receive your payment, including direct deposit to your bank account, a Reliacard that works like a debit card, or a check mailed to you. Please contact the Family Support Registry at 303-299-9123 for more information and the necessary forms for your preferred method of payment. All forms should be returned to the Family Support Registry, not the Child Support Services Division.
For additional information and forms, visit the Colorado Department of Human Services website.
No, you may still keep your case open and we will continue to provide child support services; however, it is important that you keep your Case Specialist updated with any change of address.
Payments should be mailed to:
Family Support RegistryP.O. Box 2171Denver, CO 80201-2171
Payments can be sent by check or money order only and must include the FSR Account Number, the name of the non-custodial parent paying the support, and the court case number. For additional requirements or options to pay, visit the Colorado Department of Human Services website.
As long as you are not receiving cash assistance benefits through the Colorado Works program or daycare assistance through the Colorado Child Care Assistance Program, you can close your case by sending a written request to your Case Specialist. Child support services are required when the custodial parent is receiving assistance benefits from the Colorado Works (TANF) and Low-Income Child Care Assistance Programs (CCAP).