News Flash

Board of County Commissioners - News

Posted on: July 21, 2022

Commissioners Announce Scientific & Cultural Facilities District 2022 Tier III Grant Awardees

SCFD 8 catagories - news

At the July 19 Board of County Commissioners’ Staff Briefings, Kendal Zimmermann, Program Officer, Scientific & Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), and Ron Isaacson, Cultural Council Chair, presented the funding recommendations for the 2022 SCFD  Tier III grant cycle for Jefferson County. 
Prior to the Briefing, the County Cultural Council reviewed Tier III grant applications from 81 organizations. Following in-depth review sessions of all grant applications, the Council presented their funding recommendations totaling $2,077,046.60, a 13.4% increase from last year. The grant recipient organizations bring cultural opportunities to our community that help strengthen the cultural vitality of Jefferson County and contribute to a high quality of life.  

The 39 Jefferson County-based organizations — receiving $1,711,467.92 of the total funds distributed (approximately 82 percent) — include: 40 West Arts, Apex Arts and Humanities Agency, Arvada Chorale, Center for the Arts Evergreen, Colorado Environmental Film Festival, Colorado Folk Arts Council, Conifer’s StageDoor Theatre, Denver Audubon, Denver Junior Police Band dba Mile High Community Band, Denver MountainAires, Denver Museum of Miniature Dolls and Toys, Dinosaur Ridge, Evergreen Chamber Orchestra, Evergreen Children’s Chorale, Evergreen Chorale dba Ovation West Performing Arts, Evergreen Jazz Festival, Evergreen Music Festival, Evergreen Players, Filipino-American Community of Colorado, Foothills Art Center, Foothills Park & Recreation District – Arts & Events Agency, Golden Chamber Choir dba Golden Concert Choir, Golden Eagle Concert Band, Golden History Museum & Park, Jefferson Symphony Orchestra, Lakewood Arts Council, Lakewood Symphony Orchestra, Majestic View Nature Center, Morrison Theater Company dba Miners Alley Playhouse, New Voices of Colorado dba The Alpine Chorale, Rocky Mountain Quilt Museum, Sculpture Evergreen, St. Andrew Society of Colorado, Tesoro Foundation, The E Project dba Benchmark Theatre, The Evergreen Naturalists Audubon Society dba Evergreen Audubon, The Lutheran Chorale, The Venue Theatre, and Town of Morrison – Morrison Natural History Museum. The additional 41 SCFD funding recipients offer programming in Jefferson County.

Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD) is a tax collected and distributed to nearly 300 cultural organizations in our seven-county Denver metro region including Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas and Jefferson counties. Just one penny on every $10 (0.1 percent of sales and use tax) spent in the district ensures public access to cultural organizations through public financial support. Voters have approved continuing the tax multiple times over more than 30 years. Beginning with taxpayers and with the expert shepherding of the SCFD, the collective mission is simple: We fund culture. 

For more information about the Scientific & Cultural Facilities District, the only funding model in the nation that serves a region of seven counties, visit their website at

Facebook Twitter Email