News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/10/2022 9:24:00 AM to 5/10/2022 9:51:26 AM.

News Flash Home - News

Posted on: May 10, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Jefferson County Commissioners Honor Sustainability Award Winners

2022 Jefferson County Sustainability Awards

The Jefferson County Commissioners and the Jefferson County Sustainability Commission are thrilled to announce the 2022 Sustainability Award winners, celebrating and recognizing outstanding achievements related to environmental stewardship and community cohesion in Jefferson County. 

These awards honor achievements related to environmental stewardship, efficient use of resources, economic vitality, and innovation in alignment with Jefferson County's mission, vision, values, and goals. Four winners were chosen from several nominees submitted by community members in the categories of Organization/Business, Student/Educational Institution, Resident and Eco-Employee (public employee category).

“It is with great excitement that the Jefferson County Board of County Commissioners present the Sustainability Commission’s 2022 Sustainability Awards,” Jefferson County Commissioner Andy Kerr said. “By recognizing the people and groups leading the education, promotion and implementation of sustainable practices in Jefferson County, we hope to motivate them to continue their important efforts, and both encourage and motivate others to follow their lead. We want to thank all of the wonderful people in our community who are doing this impressive and invaluable sustainability work.” 

2022 Jefferson County Sustainability Award Winners

Organization/Business Award Winner: ZERO Market, Edgewater 

ZERO Market provides alternatives to single-use disposable products, refills for home and body care items, and compostables or recyclables for products that would otherwise be landfill-bound at the end of their lifecycle. They also hold workshops to educate folks in sustainable practices like composting, zero waste lifestyles and creating DIY eco-friendly products.

Student/Educational Institution Award Winner: Leah Walker, School of Mines

As president of the Mines Green Team, Leah has organized Sustainability Talks and implemented Sustainability Day where she organized student volunteers in an effort to divert more than 500 pounds of food waste at the school’s cafe from ending up at the landfill, having it composted instead.

Resident Award: Shiela DeForest

Shiela DeForest founded GREAT (Golden Residents Eco Action Team) during the pandemic to help unify eco-minded Golden residents and friends into climate action. She has also led Golden Earth Week 2021, participated in cleanups for World Cleanup Day 2021, and helped stage #fridaysforfuture climate strikes with Colorado School of Mines students in downtown Golden. She also help planned Golden Earth Week 2022 with eco talks on pollination, waste management and cleanups.

Eco-Employee Award: Theresa Worsham, City of Golden

Theresa is constantly working to improve Golden’s sustainability programs, most recently having implemented compost collection programs for the city. Theresa is currently working to complete and implement the new Energy Code consultant contract, providing assistance to homeowners and developers and city staff to interpret and comply with current energy code requirements.

Honorable Mentions:

Ballmer Peak Distillery, Lakewood

Green Team Superheroes, Wilmot Elementary, Evergreen

Leawood Elementary, Littleton

Make It Vegan, Lakewood

"Picking this year's winners was a terrific challenge. We were thrilled to receive far more nominations than in any previous year. Each nomination was extremely high quality and award-worthy. This widespread activity to improve the sustainability of our community demonstrates the growing interest and commitment in Jefferson County to a cleaner environment. We're excited to celebrate with this year's winners and all nominees, and look forward to following the impact of their actions going forward." said Kevin Morse, chair of the Sustainability Commission.

The Sustainability Award winners were presented with a trophy and certificate by the Board of County Commissioners during a Public Hearing on May 10, 2022.  

Learn more about the Sustainability Commission Online here

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - News

Engage Jeffco

Read our latest Engage Jeffco enewsletter

Posted on: November 16, 2023
Commissioner Kraft-Tharp headshot, name and district

RMMA Addressing Off-Airport Impacts

Posted on: October 17, 2023
Andy Kerr headshot with news image text

The "Road" to Success

Posted on: August 15, 2023
Artist rendering of the completed Floyd Hill Project, including mountains and the highway.

CDOT Begins I-70 Floyd Hill Project

Posted on: July 10, 2023
Snow on the mountains with the text "Severe Weather Resources"

Severe Weather Resources

Posted on: November 2, 2023