News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/16/2022 10:02:00 AM to 5/1/2022 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash Home - News

Posted on: February 15, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Jeffco Establishes First Ever All-Hazard Mitigation Committee

All-Hazard Mitigation Committee_Newsflash

Jefferson County announces the completion of its updated five-year Hazard Mitigation Plan and the establishment of Colorado’s first-ever county All-Hazard Mitigation Advisory Committee.

The purpose of the Hazard Mitigation Plan is to reduce the impacts of hazards on citizens and property throughout Jefferson County. The plan details Jefferson County’s hazard mitigation policies and planning process, to include identifying relevant hazards and risks and the strategy the county and 20 other participating jurisdictions will use to decrease vulnerability and increase resiliency and sustainability. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) requires that hazard mitigation plans be updated every five years for jurisdictions to be eligible for federal mitigation assistance. Additionally, it is estimated that for every $1 spent on mitigation, an average of $6 is saved in avoided future losses. To see the plan, visit the Hazard Mitigation Plan web page.

The newly established All-Hazard Mitigation Advisory Committee will serve as an advisory body to the policy makers, judiciary, and stakeholder groups who implement the hazard mitigation strategies outlined in the plan. “No one agency owns the responsibility of all hazard mitigation,” said Jefferson County Emergency Management Director Hal Grieb. “This plan update has provided us the springboard to create Colorado’s first All-Hazard Mitigation Advisory Committee to formally showcase and share mitigation efforts happening throughout Jefferson County as well as keep federal grant dollars available for our known vulnerabilities surrounding hazards like wildfire, flooding, severe weather, and cybersecurity.”

Agencies that will be participating in the committee include Jefferson County, City of Arvada, City of Edgewater, City of Golden, City of Lakewood, City of Wheat Ridge, Town of Morrison, Arvada Fire, Elk Creek Fire, Evergreen Fire, Fairmount Fire, Foothills Fire, Genesee Fire, Golden Gate Fire, Indian Hills Fire, Inter-Canyon Fire, North Fork Fire, West Metro Fire, Lookout Mountain Fire, Denver Water, and Jefferson Conservation District.

The kickoff meeting for the committee is scheduled for Thursday, Feb. 17 from 9:30 to 11 a.m. Public comment will be taken at the end of each meeting. For more information on the committee and this meeting, visit the All-Hazard Mitigation Committee web page within the Boards and Commissions website.

Facebook Twitter Email