News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/16/2022 9:30:00 AM to 2/16/2022 10:02:03 AM.

News Flash Home - News

Posted on: February 15, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Jeffco Establishes First Ever All-Hazard Mitigation Committee

All-Hazard Mitigation Committee_Newsflash

Jefferson County announces the completion of its updated five-year Hazard Mitigation Plan and the establishment of Colorado’s first-ever county All-Hazard Mitigation Advisory Committee.

The purpose of the Hazard Mitigation Plan is to reduce the impacts of hazards on citizens and property throughout Jefferson County. The plan details Jefferson County’s hazard mitigation policies and planning process, to include identifying relevant hazards and risks and the strategy the county and 20 other participating jurisdictions will use to decrease vulnerability and increase resiliency and sustainability. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) requires that hazard mitigation plans be updated every five years for jurisdictions to be eligible for federal mitigation assistance. Additionally, it is estimated that for every $1 spent on mitigation, and average of $6 is saved in avoided future losses. To see the plan, visit the Hazard Mitigation Plan web page.

The newly established All-Hazard Mitigation Advisory Committee will serve as an advisory body to the policy makers, judiciary, and stakeholder groups who implement the hazard mitigation strategies outlined in the plan. “No one agency owns the responsibility of all hazard mitigation,” said Jefferson County Emergency Management Director Hal Grieb. “This plan update has provided us the springboard to create Colorado’s first All-Hazard Mitigation Advisory Committee to formally showcase and share mitigation efforts happening throughout Jefferson County as well as keep federal grant dollars available for our known vulnerabilities surrounding hazards like wildfire, flooding, severe weather, and cybersecurity.”

Agencies that will be participating in the committee include Jefferson County, City of Arvada, City of Edgewater, City of Golden, City of Lakewood, City of Wheat Ridge, Town of Morrison, Arvada Fire, Elk Creek Fire, Evergreen Fire, Fairmount Fire, Foothills Fire, Genesee Fire, Golden Gate Fire, Indian Hills Fire, Inter-Canyon Fire, North Fork Fire, West Metro Fire, Lookout Mountain Fire, Denver Water, and Jefferson Conservation District.

The kickoff meeting for the committee is scheduled for Thursday, Feb. 17 from 9:30 to 11 a.m. Public comment will be taken at the end of each meeting. For more information on the committee and this meeting, visit the All-Hazard Mitigation Committee web page within the Boards and Commissions website.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - News

County News

Jefferson County 2024 Property Tax Bills to Be Mailed Feb. 16

Posted on: December 5, 2023 | Last Modified on: July 25, 2022
Engage Jeffco

Read our latest Engage Jeffco enewsletter

Posted on: February 15, 2024
Andy Kerr headshot with news image text

2025 Budget Planning

Posted on: February 12, 2024
Electric vehicle plugged in to charger

Jefferson County Launches Pilot Program to Electrify County Vehicles

Posted on: January 29, 2024 | Last Modified on: July 25, 2022
Snow on the mountains with the text "Severe Weather Resources"

Severe Weather Resources

Posted on: November 2, 2023
Commissioner Dahlkemper headshot, name and district

Homelessness Prevention Efforts in Jeffco

Posted on: December 20, 2023
Artist rendering of the completed Floyd Hill Project, including mountains and the highway.

CDOT Begins I-70 Floyd Hill Project

Posted on: July 10, 2023