News Flash Home - News

Posted on: January 15, 2020

Jefferson County Government Properties Go Tobacco-Free


Effective February 3, 2020, smoking and the use of tobacco products will not be permitted on Jefferson County Government properties except in select, marked Designated Tobacco Use Areas (DTUA) and private vehicles. New signs to point you to those DTUAs that will be going up around Jefferson County facilities around the time the policy goes into effect.

Jefferson County Government, as a major employer and provider of services, is committed to creating a healthy, safe and clean environment for employees, visitors and contractors on our properties. As tobacco remains the leading cause of preventable death in Colorado, a major part of this commitment includes reducing exposure to secondhand smoke and vapor and reducing tobacco litter on Jefferson County properties. This policy includes, but is not limited to, electronic smoking devices/vapes, combustible cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, snuff, snus, hookah and pipe smoking.

We appreciate your help in making this policy a success! You can view the new Smoking and Tobacco Use Policy on our website. Interested in quitting tobacco? Visit or call 1-800-QUIT-NOW to learn more about the resources and support available.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - News

human services building 2

Human Services Buildings Closed on Fridays

Posted on: September 29, 2020
sustainability award photo with plants

Sustainability Awards Presented

Posted on: September 29, 2020
County News

Climate Action Plan Approved

Posted on: September 29, 2020