Temporary

Guidelines

Temporary Registrations may be issued for up to 60 days from date of purchase. To obtain a temporary registration, you must fulfill the following requirements:

Proof of Purchase

Proof of purchase via one of the following documents:

  • Dealer invoice or dealer bill of sale
    • Only acceptable if purchased from an out-of-state dealer
  • Legal bill of sale and copy of previous owner's registration
    • Must be notarized or Signed under penalty of perjury
  • Title properly assigned to new owner

Proof of Insurance

  • Cannot be in the previous owner's name
  • Insurance on an another vehicle is not accepted
  • Must be Colorado coverage on the newly purchased vehicle

Secure & Verifiable Identification

  • New owner (as listed on proof of purchase document) must be present with Photo ID
  • Only one owner must be present

Applicable Sales Tax

  • Sales tax (or proof of payment)

Temporary registrations may be issued in other cases, but they will usually only be issued for 10 days or less. Contact us for the requirements and conditions.

Temporary registrations cannot be issued to vehicles sold as "Tow Away" by a licensed Colorado Dealer.

Payment Options

  • Cash, check or credit and debit cards accepted
  • Please make checks Payable to Jefferson County (no checks under $10 - dealerships exempt)
  • Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover are accepted - subject to additional convenience fee.