Colorado law allows a one-month grace period after a registration is due for renewal, excluding Special Mobile Machinery (SMM) off-highway tabs, Persons with Disabilities placards and temporary permits. For example, if your plates are due in January, your grace period is the month of February.
Online renewals are available for basic renewals.
Address envelope to:
Jefferson County Motor Vehicle
100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2540
Golden, CO 80419-2540
Make check or money order payable to Jefferson County. Please write your license plate number on the check.
If an Emissions test is necessary, send the bottom portion of the gasoline results sheet or the small diesel results sheet with the postcard and payment.
Return the postcard and payment to the Jefferson County Clerk's office before the last business day of your grace period. Please allow for postal delivery time, as postmarks do not guarantee processing or prevent late fees.
Proof of Insurance required for registration - trailers exempt.
CLS / EM Fee
The $25 fee, shown as CLS fee, on renewal cards (EM fee on registration receipts) is the emissions testing fee collected when a mobile emission test (RapidScreen) has been accepted and processed as part of your renewal.
- Cash, check or credit and debit cards accepted.
- Please make checks Payable to Jefferson County (no checks under $10 - dealerships exempt)
- Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover are accepted - subject to additional convenience fee.
Jeffco's kiosk has a new home providing you with longer service hours - King Soopers located at 8031 Wadsworth Blvd.
Skip the line! Colorado MVExpress is a self-service kiosk that offers a fast and easy way to renew your vehicle registration. Jeffco residents can use ANY kiosk state-wide making it convenient to renew where ever you are. Check it out - Colorado MVExpress.
- State of Colorado secure data phone app that sends personalized renewal reminders.
- Accepts renewal payments.