Registering to Vote for the First Time in Colorado

Registration Requirements

  • At least 16-years-old and understands that they must be 18 years old to be eligible to vote
  • Provides a valid Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID card (Issued by the Department of Revenue) OR presents one of the acceptable forms of identification.  A complete list of acceptable forms of identification is available from the Colorado Secretary of State in English and version en Espanol.   
  • A resident of the state of Colorado for at least 22 days
  • United States Citizen

Registration Deadlines

The last day to register to vote or change the address on a voter registration is now determined by the method voters chooses to submit their registration.

Receive a mail ballot by registering 8 days before Election Day

Register Anytime in Person - Including Election Day

Appearing in-person at any Voter Service Center or the Jefferson County Elections Division.

*Colorado law requires identification at the polls for first-time voters who register by mail and for mail ballot voters who did not provide proper ID upon registering to vote. A complete list of acceptable forms of identification is available from the Colorado Secretary of State in English and version en Espanol.

Certificate of Registration

The voter is the only person who can make a Request for a Certificate of Registration.

Your Certificate of Registration can be:

  • Picked up at the counter in the Elections Division office
  • Mailed