Effective June 1, 2020, we will begin accepting new and renewal CHP applications online only.
Application, supplemental form, and fingerprint form must be submitted in person to the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office Records Unit Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. You must submit a concealed handgun permit application (new and renewal) to the county sheriff’s office where you reside, own property or own a business. Your photo will be taken and card mailed to you once approved. Please note that permit cards are property of the Sheriff’s office.
- You must complete and answer all questions on the online Concealed Handgun Permit Application
- Per Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) 18-12-205(2)(a), all applicants must sign the application in the presence of the issuing county sheriff or designee.
- You must complete the Concealed Handgun Permits Supplemental Form (PDF) if you answer ’yes’ to number 14 on the application
Proof of Residency
- Per C.R.S. 18-12-205 (IV), an applicant must provide proof of Colorado residency by providing a valid driver’s license, Colorado ID or Military ID, along with permanent duty station orders for Colorado.
- If the address on the driver’s license or ID doesn’t match the application, the applicant is required to provide other proof of residency, such as a lease/rental agreement, property tax statement, utility bill or vehicle registration.
- Per C.R.S. 42-2-119 (1) (a), whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a driver’s license or motor vehicle registration number, moves from the address named in such application or in the license or registration issued to such person or when the name of the licensee is changed, such person shall within 30 days notify the department in writing of such person’s old and new address, and the number of any license or registration held by such person.
$100 made payable to the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office. Will accept cash, MasterCard, Visa, money order, cashier’s check or certified check (no personal or business checks).
Pre-payment for most services is required.
Handgun Training Certificate
- Certificates must contain the applicant’s name, course name, date of course and the instructor’s original signature
- Online, home study and hunter safety courses will not be accepted
- A copy of your original certificate is acceptable
The Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office will take one set of fingerprints to be submitted to the CBI / FBI.
Competence with a Handgun
Per C.R.S. 18-12-203, applicants must demonstrate competence with a handgun by submitting one of the following:
- Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military
- The applicant will submit proof of participation, in the form of original or photocopied results of his or her participation in organized shooting competitions
- The applicant who wishes to demonstrate competence with a firearm through participation in organized shootings must show that:
- The organized shooting competition is associated with, sponsored, or organized by a reputable organization
- The applicant has participated in at least two such competitions within the past year, as defined as the twelve-month period prior to the date of application
- The applicant’s participation results demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the Sheriff, that the individual is competent to carry a concealed firearm
- Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified instructor
- Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within three years preceding submittal of this application;
- Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within 10 years before submitting this application;
- A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado law enforcement agency that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within 10 years before submitting this application;
- A training certificate from a handgun training class obtained within 10 years before submitting this application. The certificate must include the original signature of the certified instructor who taught the class.
- A “handgun training class” means: a law enforcement training firearms safety course; a firearms safety course offered by a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher education, a public or private institution or organization or firearms training school that is open to the general public and is taught by a certified instructor; or a firearms safety course or class offered and taught by a certified instructor.
- A “certified instructor” is a firearms safety course instructor certified by a county, municipal, state or federal law enforcement agency; the Colorado Peace Officer Standards Training (POST) board; a federal military agency; or a national nonprofit organization that certifies firearms instructors, operates national firearms competitions and provides training, including courses in personal protection, in small arms safety, use and marksmanship.
Please call 303-271-5542 for more information on concealed handgun permits.