Insurance Requirement for the Office of Motor Vehicles
You must have Colorado insurance (or Colorado compliant coverage) on the vehicle you wish to register. Insurance in the previous owners’ name is not acceptable.
Acceptable Proof of Insurance
One of the following documents (original, electronic*, fax or photocopy) is acceptable as proof of insurance:
A letter from the insurance company (on their letterhead) stating the vehicle is insured.
The declaration page from the insurance policy.
The insurance binder or policy.
Your insurance card.
*A counter agent may accept electronic proof of insurance on your device (laptop, tablet, smart phone) at their discretion.
Colorado Compliant Insurance**
The list below outlines the required minimum liability limits (25 / 50 / 15) as per Colorado Revised Statute 10-4-620.
$25,000 bodily injury per person in any one accident
$50,00 bodily injury for all persons in any one accident
$15,000 property damage in any one accident
**If your insurance coverage is from another state, you may need to provide proof that your coverage meets or exceeds these minimums.
Updating the Database
Jefferson County Motor Vehicle cannot update the Motorist Insurance Identification Database (MIIDB). Please have your insurance company visit www.colorado.gov/driveinsured to update the MIIDB as required.