Civil union licenses
Please make an appointment to obtain your civil union license in person. The appointment calendar is available 14 days in advance, refreshing daily.
- Both people should be present to apply. If this is not possible, one party must appear with a completed and notarized absentee affidavit, as well as original identification for the absent party.
- Due to COVID-19 restrictions, only the two applicants are permitted in the office at this time.
- Civil union licenses can be purchased for $30 and may be used immediately within the state of Colorado. The license is valid for 35 days from the issue date.
Civil union license requirements
Civil unions may be certified by judges, retired judges, magistrates, Indian tribe officials and clergy (ordained/recognized to lawfully perform marriages, out-of-state clergy need not be registered in Colorado), or by the parties to the civil union. Civil union certificates must include the County and location where the civil union took place, the date of the civil union, the officiating party's signature and title, and both parties' signatures (witnesses are not required). Completed civil union certificate must be forwarded to the County Clerk and Recorder's office within 63 days after the ceremony. Failure to do so may result in late fees.
Civil union application copy request form
Per law, copies of civil union applications are only available to the parties themselves or an immediate family member. To obtain a certified copy of a civil union application, please complete the form and have it notarized. Fee is $2.25 per copy. Access the Civil Union Application Copy Request Form (PDF)