• Concealed Handgun Permits

    Applications for concealed handgun permits are accepted Monday through Friday (except holidays), 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the Records Unit (200 Jefferson County Pkwy., Golden).

    • Walk-ins only
    • No appointments
    • Incomplete packets will not be accepted
    • Applicants must be 21 years of age at the time of application
    • A copy of your original training certificate is required at time of application
    • Fees are non-refundable
    • Notification of a change of address must be made to JCSO within 30 days.  Please submit the notarized Address Change form Download Adobe Reader from Downloads Page in person to JCSO Records M-F, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. along with your valid Colorado driver's license.  A new card will be issued.
    • Lost, stolen, or destroyed permits must be reported to JCSO within 3 business days.  Please submit the notarized Stolen, Lost or Destroyed Permit form Download Adobe Readeer from Downloads Page  in person to JCSO Records, Monday-Friday 8 a.m.- 5 p.m. along with your valid Colorado driver's license.  A new card will be issued.

    Important Information

    • Information Notice StarDue to House Bill 14-1166 that went into effect March 14, 2014, you must submit a concealed handgun permit application (new and renewal) to the county sheriff’s office where you reside, own property or own a business.  If you currently have a concealed handgun permit with Jefferson County and now live in another county, you must renew your permit with that county.  No exceptions will be made. 
    • Concealed Handgun Permit Statutes View exit disclaimer policy page for links to third-party websites. in Colorado
    • A list of states that maintain Reciprocity: View exit disclaimer policy page for links to third-party websites and recognize Colorado permits in their state
    • Frequently Asked Questions about concealed handgun permits